Borrie & Lowe: The Law of Contempt

Borrie & Lowe: The Law of Contempt

By Richard Munden

Publisher: LexisNexis
Date of Publication: 1 Oct 2010

Regularly cited in court, Borrie and Lowe: The Law of Contempt is an essential title from the Common Law Series covering the general common law position governing publications interfering with legal proceedings. Written by experts in the field, it looks at the need to reconcile media freedom and fair trials and administration of justice; plus reporting restrictions and access to documentation which is closely bound up with contempt of court.

The fourth edition, edited by Professor Ian Cram and with a forward by Lord Justice Sedley, is intended to provide a more concise guide to the area than Arlidge, Eady & Smith on Contempt. The book has been substantially revised since the previous edition, which was published in 1996. In 17 chapters it covers all of the relevant common law and statutory developments, including taking into account the impact of the Human Rights Act 1998, the Youth Justice and Criminal Evidence Act 1999, the Civil Procedure Rules.

5RB‘s Richard Munden is author of the chapter entitled ‘Reporting Civil Court Proceedings’.  Other contributing authors include Amali de Silva of Wiggin LLP, Caroline Kelly and Jennifer Robinson of Finers Stephens Innocent, Professors Helen Fenwick and Gavin Phillipson of the University of Durham and Dr Andrew Scott of the LSE.

Copies of the book can be purchased from LexisNexis.